Disney and Parental issues

 

DP Frozen-movie-posterI’ve seen Frozen, and I have to scream out loud I loved every minute of it although I’ll admit the songs were that good I wanted the movie to have more singing. But hopefully I’ll get around to doing a blog post on the full movie when the DVD comes out (31st of March for the UK) Then I can pause the movie and don’t miss any funny moments or singing.

This might be a little spoiler but Frozen brings forward again that got me shouting, “Not again!,” In my seat, although I think it was supposed to bring out sad emotions but, think of all the popular Disney movies. Because Parents in Disney movies seem to have a contract to die or at least have issues. (No discrimination to single parents, I’m just pointing out how many times Disney have brought up this story line)

 

Two of my favourite Disney Movies- Mulan and Brave, the main females grew up in a stable family environment (well as stable as they could be) But their parental issue came that the story line was based around them rebelling.

 

I’m thinking Disney are setting up a hidden message that, Kids if you want to get somewhere in life one or both of your parents have to die or you need to do some thing drastic like join the army as a man knowing you might get killed if found or change your mother into a bear.

DP Madness

 

This is me just doing a list- (Believe it or not I woke up at 9am putting together this in my head… which may make me seem more disturbed than normal)

DP Stitch Dumbo

Cinderella- Both parents died

Snow White- Both parents dead

DP Walt_Disney's_Bambi_poster

Little Mermaid- Mother Died

Bambi- Mother got shot.

Pinocchio- No mother, but I think the cricket makes up for that. (So, your ok if one of your parents is an insect)

Peter Pan- Now I’m not even going to go into those issues. But reality he has no parents, he as a bunch of kids.

Sleeping Beauty- Both parents are alive, but they didn’t raise her, she didn’t know who they were.

Beauty and The Beast- No mother and father drama as he does nearly end up in an asylum.

Aladdin- JasDP Aladdinpostermine- No mother, Aladdin- Absent parents.

The Lion King- Do I really need to point out this one?

Pocahontas- (I haven’t seen this one in a long time) Not much mention of her mother.

Lilo and Stitch- Lilo- Both parents died.

Finding Nemo- Mother died

The Princess and the Frog- Father died

Tangled- Real parents still alive, but drama as she was kidnapped at birth and raised by another mother.

Ok, I’m stopping it there…

DP frozen

I know some of these plot lines follow stories or are essential to the plot.

Only one princess out of Disney’s collection have had a kid- Ariel (Little Mermaid) And Ariel didn’t die in that story line! But then the daughter did rebel… maybe the reason why we don’t see many of the princesses/characters having children is because Disney will end up killing the characters off…

Leave a Reply

