Happy Birthday Ol Blue Eyes!

Frank Sinatra. He really needs no introduction. Good Ol Blue Eyes broke many a lady’s heart, even after his death. Multi talented, beautifully handsome and a bad boy for some of his life this man really was the best of Hollywood. Here on what would have been his 82nd birthday we reminisce on why we love him.

The first film I ever watched with Frank Sinatra in it was On The Town when I was 6 years old. I only wanted to watch it because it had Gene Kelly in it (Singin’ In The Rain was my favourite film.) As soon as Mr. Sinatra was on screen I was hooked. His blue eyes mesmerised me and even as a six year old I knew I’d make it my mission to watch all his films. I’m 22 now and only have a few more films to watch which in some way saddens me.

on-the-town-4th-july-movie-family-photo-475x357-pr-002_476x357

He acts brilliantly whether it’s in musicals, Rat pack films or dramas. (I still cry when he gets shot at the end of Von Ryans Express.) His films are ones that everyone can watch and even after his death 14 years ago they still get played frequently on TV.

I’ll admit I didn’t know much about the Rat pack until a few years ago and after I watched Robin and the Seven Hoods (Sinatra, Sammy Davis Jr., Bing Crosby, Dean Martin) I decided I needed to know more. His Rat pack days define him and the fact that they made 13 films together surely shows the fun they were having, especially when the films were all slapstick, fun films.

The_Rat_Pack Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, Peter Lawford, Joey Bishop & Sammy Davis Jr.

Back to Sinatra. We all know at least one of his films… Guys and Dolls? High Society? Ocean’s Eleven? His films were massive successes and so was his music. The combination of the two made him the biggest thing in Hollywood at one point add in dancing and he may just, only just though, be on par with the greats like Gene Kelly and Bing Crosby.

Ava-Gardner23

He was an extremely popular man with all his cash and his bad boy image. And along came Ava Gardner who I think any man (and some women) would be happy to have on their arm. One of Hollywood’s most memorable couples with great talents, sheer beauty and the lifestyles to match.

His popularity also exists in his films look at the big names he stars opposite- Bing Crosby, Grace Kelly (in her last ever film), Celeste Holm in High Society. Gene Kelly in several films. Spencer Tracey in The Devil at 4 O’Clock and Marlon Brand, Jean Simmons and Vivian Blaine in Guys and Dolls.

His music and films will never disappear. If we don’t hear him on the radio you’ll probably hear My Way at a funeral. Sinatra is influenced many Jazz musicians throughout the year and no matter how many copies of his songs are sung there’ll never be another like him. For that we should be grateful, I don’t think we’re ready for another Sinatra yet.

louis_sinatra_beggy_and_bingLouis Armstrong, Sinatra, Peggy Lee & Bing Crosby.

Sinatra is truly a great of Hollywood, cinema and music worldwide. There’s no excuse not to watch his films! I guarantee you’ll fall in love with him just as I did 16 years ago. At least watch his Rat pack films!

If you don’t have the time to watch a full film pop on to Youtube and watch some episodes of the Frank Sinatra Show. Well worth a watch.

You can even buy a Sinatra Barbie Doll.

Leave a Reply

